Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1986 and is located at 722 East Merrimack Street. Built in 1926, the house was designed by prominent New York architect Ernest Flagg for Frederick Coburn, a Lowell-born historian and patron of the arts. The house was built according to Flagg's principles for inexpensive house construction as illustrated by the symmetry and balance of the design and practicality of room arrangement. This house was Flagg's first in New England and reflected his concern for low-cost construction with its then-unique modular method of stone and concrete construction.
Flagg was responsible for designing many residential and commercial buildings in New York as well as a new campus for the Naval Academy in Annapolis.